top of page

“Entra En Aguas Profundas Conmigo” (Enter Into Deep Waters With Me)


"Refinement" Oil on Canvas 24X36 Adrienne

Three years ago, that’s what the Lord told me.

“Entra en aguas profundas conmigo.”

(Enter into deep waters with me.)

I was grateful that God was speaking to me, but I didn’t know what it meant. It came at a time when I was overwhelmed, frustrated and stuck. I knew there was more to my life. God had revealed that, but I didn’t know what to do next. What was the next step? I had cried many times to God and felt there was no change. I waited. Then, in desperation, I tried to do it my way and failed. It affected me and my relationships horribly and I just wanted to escape. But God was telling me to wait.

“Entra en aguas profundas conmigo.” He said over and over again.

“Yes, Lord, but what does that mean? I read the Bible. I pray. I go to church. I help those in need. How do I go deeper? What does it mean to go deeper with You? What do I do?! I was excited to do so, but had no clue.

Within the passed 3 years, I’m learning what God meant and this process is ongoing for life. These 5 things He has shown me.

1. Let go. Allow God. SURRENDER.

  • Let the Holy Spirit move in and through you. I remember when I was afraid to let the Holy Spirit with all of His power rest in and work through me. His greatness felt like it was too much for me to handle until I let go and found comfort and security in His power. It is an ongoing decision, choice I must make to let God, and I’m a work en proceso.

  • Allow God and SURRENDER your will. Say, “not my will but Yours be done.” To follow Christ, we need to deny ourselves and take up our cross. When you say yes to Jesus, it’s no longer about you. It’s about loving God and loving others. And you can’t say you love God, if you can’t love others. It’s hard, my friends. So choose to love and forgive every day and sometimes every moment of the day. Reject the negative thoughts and submit them to the Word of God. Remember who your fight is against, not human flesh but against evil rulers, authorities, and powers of darkness in the spiritual realm. So we must fight back the way God has taught us.

  • Every day live to the Holy Spirit’s desire. Walk by the Spirit not by the flesh. That’s part of the denial. You will get used to it and it will become easier, your new way of life. Just like anything you start to do and need to learn, whether it’s learning a new job or skill, getting fit, or eating healthy. At first, it seems quite hard and then after a few weeks, it becomes a new practice, routine and you got it!

2. Build the Friendship with JESUS. Walk with Jesus. Talk with Jesus> SPEND TIME with JESUS.

  • He is Faithful Friend. Take out time to know Him intimately and let Him know you intimately.

  • Be open, honest and uncensored with Jesus. He appreciates you being you. Don’t worry about words coming out the “right” way before Him, just talk to Him. He talks back. :) And anything other than you being you is a lie to Him. He knows your heart, but as a good friend, He won’t force you. He wants you to know He is there, will listen, and He gets it! He understands because He’s been in your place. He’s felt every pain, anxious and unhealthy thought, and has had the weight of every evil upon Him at the cross, so He knows it better than you. There is NOTHING that surprises Him or will come as a shock, so come bring it as you are.

  • Let it out! He’s your BEST FRIEND and He’s your COUNSELOR. You know there are some friends who listen to you but then try to give you advice. Guilty. Well, that’s great even though sometimes you just want an ear or sometimes their counsel is a bit side tracked. Well, Jesus will never lead you astray and His counsel is always on point, so why wouldn’t we go to Jesus and let it out- the frustrations, hurt, anger, the joys, plans, decisions- and trust Him to guide us.

3. SEEK (from SOS: Surrender Obey Seek)

  • Like lost treasure search to know Him more and you will get insight, discernment, knowledge, wisdom and understanding.

  • Wholeheartedly seek Him and you will get to know Him.

  • Read the Word. He is The Word. Study it and let Him speak through it to you.

  • Communicate with God-Talk, Pray, Listen.

  • Be Still. Rest and refresh with God. Get away alone with God. This could be moments of an hour, a day, weekend, or week. Jesus did it. Moments of silence and stillness before the Lord to be refreshed.

  • Be thankful. You enter into His presence with praise, and a heart full of gratitude enters quickest. Once you’re there, all things are put into perspective and there is clarity and peace.

  • As you get to know Him, you will love Him more and more and find your joy complete in Him. Put Him first.

4. OBEY

  • He knows best! So do it! Just as He says. You may question it, you may doubt it in the natural, but listen to your spirit, to His Spirit. You will feel a sense of peace and confidence of what He is asking you to do. And although, it may make no sense and it tests your faith and challenges your courage, the result of the obedience is always AMAZING and Full of JOY!!! Blessing upon blessing!!! My Obedience testimonies are for another post, but read about the blessings that are yours in Deuteronomy 28! So wonderful!

5. Trust in the Lord with ALL YOUR HEART

  • No matter what, trust in the Lord and lean not on what you understand.

  • Keep inquiring of the Lord. He will direct you. He will prepare you and tell you what next step to take.

  • As you obey, trust because He’s going to ask you to do things that may be very difficult, leading you totally out of your comfort zone yet exactly where you feel most comfortable at and comfortable doing because that’s what you were created for.

  • Trust Him with all your heart. Like a child trusts their parent. Trust He’s got you covered, literally. You are under His wings of protection. You are in His tower, behind His rock, and IN HIM. You are IN CHRIST! You’re safe and equipped and He promises that His burden is light...

So with no fear

And great expectation

Step in...

Isabela, PR 2018 AO


bottom of page